Veterans Resources

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks to our veterans, we have a free country to establish stories of recovery and have a place to build our lives and have basic human rights. Attaining life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness is a blessing and privilege afforded us by our veterans. Unfortunately, the lives of many returning soldiers often involve emotional and physical disability, the threat of suicide, and lack of community supports.

Effective treatment and resources are important in helping to give hope and recovery to those who have given so much to us. Programs offered by the Veteran’s Administration (VA) in 2013 have helped to provide new services for these wounded and searching warriors. Peer Specialists are being hired by the VA to counsel, teach, and model recovery to those veterans in need of support. This page is dedicated to helping veterans and professionals in the field to find resources of aid.

 

Operation Freedom Warriors - Creating a Pathway for Military Veterans Through Art
For more information, and to Sign up, Click Here!

 

 

DBSA Veteran Peer Specialist Training

DBSA trains Veterans who live with mental health conditions to support the recovery of their peers. Facilitated by nationally recognized trainers, this comprehensive course delivers a foundation in recovery principles, peer support intervention skills, and ethical practice. Training is designed for individual Veterans who wish to qualify for VA peer support positions and consists of 46 hours of web-based and face-to-face training. Benefits may be available from the VA or your state to support training costs. For information about your eligibility, please contact your state Veterans Benefits Office or Department of Veterans Affairs Vocational Rehabilitation Services. For additional funding ideas, please visit DBSAlliance.org/FindingFunds.

Download application (PDF) or apply online.

Join Our Peer Partnership Mailing List

Be the first to hear about new DBSA training and networking opportunities.

 

 USEFUL VETERANS LINKS

 

Affordable Care Act and Veterans http://www.va.gov/health/aca/  Also click here

After Deployment, www.afterdeployment.org

Air Force Palace HART (Helping Airmen Recover Together), www.military.com/military-report/air-force-palace-hart-program

American Veterans with Brain Injuries, www.avbi.org

Army Behavioral Health, www.behavioralhealth.army.mil/

Battlemind Training, www.battlemind.org

BeThere Peer Support Line - provides 24/7 chat, e-mail, phone and text-messaging support.

Best Colleges for Veterans

Brain Injury Association of USA, www.biausa.org

Center for Women Veterans, http://www.1.va.gov/womenvet/

Coalition to Salute America's Heroes, www.saluteheroes.org/

Community of Veterans, http://communityofveterans.org

Coming Home Project, The, www.cominghomeproject.net

Defense and Veterans Affairs Brain Injury Center, The (tracks brain injuries among veterans), www.dvbic.org/TBI-Numbers.aspx

Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, www.esgr.org

Fallen Patriot Fund, www.fallenpatriotfund.org

Finances Online, http://financesonline.org/military-veterans

Give an Hour (mental health professionals volunteer to assist military and families), http://www.giveanhour.org/

Grants, Scholarships and Education Resources  at http://www.bestschools.com/veterans-resource/

Guide to VA Benefits, http://www1.va.gov/OPA/vadocs/current_benefits.asp

Healing Combat Trauma, www.healingcombattrauma.com

Hearts Toward Home, http://www.heartstowardhome.com/

Heroes to Hometowns, www.MilitaryHomefront.dod.mil/troops/injuredsupport

Homeless Veterans Treatment Programs, Http://www.va.gov/homeless

Iraq War Veterans Organization, www.iraqwarveterans.org

Make the Connection  http://maketheconnection.net/

Military Mental Health, www.militarymentalhealth.org

Military One Source, www.militaryonesource.com/

Military Severely Injured Center (MSIC), http://tinyurl.com/ybbrdy

Military Order of the Purple Heart, http://www.purpleheart.org/Membership/default.aspx

Military Spouse, www.milspouse.org

Military Spouse Support Network, http://www.militaryspousesupport.net/

Missouri Veterans Commission – Resources and contact information to help personnel, their dependents and survivors to obtain all entitlements available under state and federal laws, www.mvc.dps.mo.gov/

My Army Life Too for Army Families, http://www.myarmylifetoo.com/

NAMI Homefront: Helping Families and Supporting Service Members

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) – brain injury link, www.nami.org/veterans

National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), www.ncptsd.va.gov/

National Guard Family Program, www.guardfamily.org/

National Military Family Association, www.nmfa.org/site/PageServer

Navy Safe Harbor Program, www.npc.navy.mil/CommandSupport/SafeHarbor

One Freedom, www.onefreedom.org

ROTC www.af.mil

Salute Inc., www.saluteinc.org

San Diego Public Library Vet Resources click here

Seamless Transition for returning veterans, www.seamlesstransition.va.gov

Soldier For Life, www.army.mil/soldierforlife

Substance Use and Traumatic Brain Injury Risk Reduction and Prevention: http://www.mirecc.va.gov/visn19/education/dvd_tbi_sud.asp

Supportive Services for Veteran Families http://ssvfonline.org/

US Air Force, http://www.af.mil/

U.S. Army Wounded Warrior (AW2) Program,
www.aw2.army.mil

US Department of Defense Military Health System, www.tricare.osd.mil/

US Department of Veterans Affairs http://www.va.gov/

US Marines, http://www.usmc.mil/

US Navy, http://www.navy.mil/

U.S. Servicemember's Guide to Academic Programs & Aid http://www.onlinecolleges.net/for-students/college-guide-for-veterans

VA Facilities Locator and Directory, www1.va.gov/directory/guide/home.asp?isFlash=1

VA Readjustment Counseling Services, www.va.gov/rcs

VA Veteran Recovery, www.veteranrecovery.med.va.gov

Vet Centers, www.vetcenter.va.gov

VA Center for Minority Veterans, www1.va.gov/centerforminorityveterans

Veteran’s Health Administration, www1.va.gov/health/index.asp

Veterans Legal Assistance, www.nvlsp.org

Veterans for America, www.veteransforamerica.org

Vets 4 Vets, www.vets4vets.us

Vets Prevail-Free Online Training, Counseling, & Support www.vetsprevail.org 

Wounded Warrior Project, www.woundedwarriorproject.org

 

Click here or on banner above for the NAMI Veterans Resource Center

 

ITEMS OF INTEREST

Dennis Orthner: Helping Military Families Create Systems of Social Support Webinar